Welcome back




Campaign Leadership

David L. Callender, MD, President


Rex C. Ross, Campaign Chairman,
Native Galvestonian Rex C. Ross has been involved with UTMB since 2003. Currently serving as chairman of the Working Wonders Campaign, he is also a member of the Development Board and serves on the Executive Committee, Nominating Committee and is the chairman of the Business and Financial Affairs Committee. In addition, Mr. Ross is a member of the President’s Cabinet and serves as the chairman of the Membership Committee. A graduate of Ball High School in Galveston, the Massachusetts Institute of Technology and Stanford University, he retired from Schlumberger Limited in 2004 following a distinguished executive management career with that company. Mr. Ross is currently a director of Enterprise Products GP and Gulfmark Offshore, Inc.

Thomas J. Perich, JD, Campaign Vice Chair,
Thomas J. Perich, a Galveston native, is a member of the UTMB Development Board and has led the organization as its past chair and vice chair. Mr. Perich and his wife Debra are longtime members of the President’s Cabinet, joining in 1998. He is chairman of the Andrews Kurth law firm and a member of its policy committee. His practice, which focuses on banking and finance, has earned him recognition as one of Texas’ leading attorneys. Before his legal career, Mr. Perich was an officer in the U.S. Navy and a foreign service officer for the U.S. Department of State, serving as vice consul in the American Consulate General in Munich, Germany. The Houston resident holds a law degree with honors from the University of Texas at Austin.

Honorary Chairs

Tilman J. Fertitta
Thomas B. Hancher, MD
Kathrine D. McGovern
Frances A. Moody-Dahlberg
Bernard F. Morrey, MD

Honorary Chairs Emeriti

Denton A. Cooley, MD
Robert L. Moody, Sr.
Mavis P. Kelsey, Sr., MD (in memoriam)

Campaign Cabinet

Fred C. Burns
David L. Callender, MD
Winfield M Campbell Sr., JD
Betsy Clardy
Barbara J. Gibbs, MD
Irwin M. Herz, Jr., JD

Lloyd L. Hill
Harris L. Kempner, Jr.
Ronald M. Rust, MD
Cheryl A. Sadro
Susanne H. Sullivan
T. Lynn Warthan, MD

Amarillo Regional Leadership Council

Robert H. Ritter, MD, Chair
Charles S. Teeple V, MD, JD, Vice Chair

Galveston County Regional Leadership Council

Fred C. Burns, Chair
The Honorable Matthew T. Doyle, Vice Chair

Austin Regional Leadership Council

Guadalupe Zamora, MD, Chair
Charles W. Bailey, Jr., MD, JD, Vice Chair

Houston Regional Leadership Council

W. Bernard Pieper, Chair
Cynthia J. Adkins, Vice Chair

Bryan-College Station Regional Leadership Council

Ronald M. Rust, MD, Chair
William F. Price, MD, Vice Chair

McAllen Regional Leadership Council

Chevy C. Lee, MD, Chair
Oscar Sotelo, Sr., MD, Vice Chair

Corpus Christi Regional Leadership Council

Mary Dale Peterson, MD, Chair
Edgar L. Cortes, MD, Vice Chair

Northeast Texas Regional Leadership Council

J. Gregory Stovall, MD, Chair
C. Rebecca Risinger MD, Vice Chair
Patrick R. Thomas, MD, Vice Chair Emiritus

Dallas Regional Leadership Council

James C. Pritchard, Chair
J. Paul Sanders, MD, Vice Chair

San Antonio Regional Leadership Council

Fernando A. Guerra, MD, Chair
A. Dearl Dotson, MD, Vice Chair

Fort Worth Regional Leadership Council

Thomas J. Purgason, MD, Chair
Thomas M. Kleuser, MD, Vice Chair